ISL Match Prediction FC Goa vs Chennaiyin FC, Apr 14

We anticipate a close match, with FC Goa edging out a victory 2-1.

Home / Sports Predictions / Football Predictions / ISL Match Prediction FC Goa vs Chennaiyin FC, Apr 14

Match Details 

Teams: FC Goa vs Chennaiyin FC

Stadium: Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, Don Bosco Road, Margao, Goa

SeriesIndia Super League (ISL)

Hours of play: 19:30

Match day: Sunday, April 14, 2024

Probable Starting 11

FC Goa

  • Goalkeeper: Naveen Kumar
  • Defenders: Anwar Ali, Dylan Fox, Aibanbha Dohling, Seriton Fernandes
  • Midfielders: Edu Bedia, Glan Martins, Alberto Noguera
  • Forwards: Jorge Ortiz, Airam Cabrera, Makan Winkle Chothe
FC Goa India ISL

Chennaiyin FC

  • Goalkeeper: Debjit Majumder
  • Defenders: Reagan Singh, Narayan Das, Jerry Lalrinzuala, Slavko Damjanovic
  • Midfielders: Ariel Borysiuk, Vladimir Koman, Ninthoinganba Meetei
  • Forwards: Nerijus Valskis, Lukasz Gikiewicz, Rahim Ali
Chennaiyin FC ISL

Teams Head to Head: Recent Matches 

DateTeam 1ScoreTeam 2
Nov 5, 2023Chennaiyin0-3Goa
Feb 16, 2023Goa1-2Chennaiyin
Oct 21, 2022Chennaiyin0-2Goa
Feb 9, 2022Chennaiyin0-5Goa
Jan 8, 2022Goa1-0Chennaiyin
Feb 13, 2021Chennaiyin2-2Goa
Dec 19, 2020Goa1-2Chennaiyin
Mar 7, 2020Goa4-2Chennaiyin
Feb 29, 2020Chennaiyin4-1Goa
Dec 26, 2019Chennaiyin3-4Goa
Oct 23, 2019Goa3-0Chennaiyin
Apr 13, 2019Goa2-1Chennaiyin

Teams Recent Performance 

Last 5 Games of FC Goa

DateLeagueTeam 1ScoreTeam 2
06/03/24ISLGoa1 – 0East Bengal
11/03/24ISLPunjab3 – 3Goa
14/03/24ISLGoa2 – 1Bengaluru
05/04/24ISLGoa4 – 0Hyderabad
09/04/24ISLJamshedpur2 – 3Goa

Last 5 Games of Chennaiyin FC

DateLeagueTeam 1ScoreTeam 2
03/03/24ISLChennaiyin2 – 1Odisha
09/03/24ISLChennaiyin0 – 1Hyderabad
31/03/24ISLMohun Bagan2 – 3Chennaiyin
04/04/24ISLChennaiyin2 – 1Jamshedpur
09/04/24ISLChennaiyin2 – 1NorthEast United

Topscorers Statistics in ISL 2023/2024

FC Goa

PlayerGoals (G)Penalty Goals (PG)
N. Sadaoui103
Carlos Martínez81
R. Borges30
Víctor Rodríguez30
J. Gupta20

Chennaiyin FC

PlayerGoals (G)Penaltiy Goals (PG)
J. Murray52
Rafael Crivellaro42
C. Shields30
R. Ali20
R. Edwards20

General Statistics

Matches played211011211110
Goals for35132225169
Goals against20614321418
Clean sheets963321
Avg. goals scored p/m1.671.321.191.450.9
Avg. goals conceded p/m0.950.61.271.521.271.8
Avg. time 1st goal scored33m44m25m37m45m22m
Avg. time 1st goal conced.36m37m35m49m53m45m
Failed to score431936
Biggest victory4 – 04 – 04 – 15 – 15 – 13 – 2
Biggest defeat0 – 20 – 22 – 40 – 30 – 30 – 3

FC Goa vs Chennaiyin FC: Winning Prediction

FC Goa has a slight edge in this match-up, but it’s expected to be a close contest. Here’s a breakdown based on recent performance and current form:

Factors favoring FC Goa

  • Superior head-to-head record: Goa has won 13 of their 24 encounters against Chennaiyin;
  • Higher league position: They currently sit in 3rd place, indicating a stronger overall season;
  • Recent dominant victory: Goa convincingly defeated Chennaiyin 3-0 in their most recent meeting.

Factors favoring Chennaiyin FC

  • Good recent form: They have won their last two away games, suggesting a positive momentum;
  • Potential for an upset: Chennaiyin has a history of upending expectations in this rivalry.


While Goa has the statistical advantage, Chennaiyin’s recent form and potential for surprises make them a threat. We anticipate a close match, with FC Goa edging out a victory 2-1.

Key factors to consider

  • Individual player performances: The impact of key players from both sides could significantly influence the outcome.
  • Managerial tactics: The strategic approaches of the coaches will be crucial in gaining a tactical advantage.
  • Home advantage: Goa’s home crowd could play a role in boosting their morale.

India Super League (ISL) Table on 10/04/2024

1Mumbai City21145241172447
2Mohun Bagan20133441251642
5Kerala Blasters219392930-130
7East Bengal216692625124
8NorthEast United215882734-723

* MP – Matches Played; W – Wins; D – Draws; L – Losses; F – Goals For (the number of goals the team has scored); A – Goals Against (the number of goals the team has conceded); D – Goals Difference (Goals scored – Goals conceded); P – Points.

lottabet banner 728x90

Report About Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium

The Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, also known as Fatorda Stadium, is a multi-purpose stadium located in Margao, Goa, India. It has a seating capacity of 19,000, with an additional 1,000 seats in reserve. The stadium has hosted 9 ODIs in cricket and various football tournaments, including multiple Indian Super League finals, I-League matches, I-League 2 matches, AFC Cup, and AFC Champions League games. Currently, it serves as the home stadium of FC Goa.

Established in 1989, the venue was built in a record six months under the supervision of then Sports Minister Monte (D’) Cruz. Originally designed as a football-only stadium, it was later redeveloped to include cricket within a year. The first cricket One Day International (ODI) was played between Australia and Sri Lanka in the Nehru Cup on October 25, 1989.

The stadium is owned and operated by the Sports Authority of Goa. During the 2020–21 Indian Super League season, it was utilized as one of the centralized home grounds due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The stadium complex provides two levels of fan seating, along with a VIP area. Facilities include arena lighting, natural turf, broadcast room, TV studio, player dressing rooms, match delegates area, doping control rooms, medical rooms for players and spectators, VIP lounge, corporate boxes, media tribune and media working stations, press conference area, mixed zone area, CCTV cameras, a swimming pool, multipurpose gymnasium, and parking facilities.

About Indian Super League (ISL)

The Indian Super League (ISL) is the men’s highest level of the Indian football league system. It was founded on 21 October 2013 with the aim of growing the sport of football in India and increasing its exposure in the country. The league is co-promoted by Reliance, Star India, and supported by the All India Football Federation (AIFF).

The ISL began play in October 2014 with eight teams. During its first three seasons, the competition operated without official recognition from the Asian Football Confederation (AFC), which is the governing body for the sport in Asia. It was structured along the same lines as the Indian Premier League, the country’s premier Twenty20 franchise-based cricket competition. Each season lasted just three months, from October to December, and matches were held daily.

However, before the 2017–18 season, the league expanded to ten teams, extended its schedule to six months, and earned recognition from the AFC. The season runs from September to March and includes a 22-round regular season followed by playoffs involving the top six teams, culminating with the ISL Final to determine the champions. At the end of the regular season, the team with the most points is declared the premiers and presented with the League Winners’ Shield.

Currently, the league comprises 12 clubs. ISL clubs gain qualification to the Asian continental club competitions; regular-season premiers qualify directly for the subsequent season’s AFC Cup group stage. The league has received unmatched visibility in a short span of time and is speculated to be one of the top-tier leagues in India after the I-League.

Rudra Chanda